What is the MCCA?

The Mount Carmel Community Association (MCCA) is Mount Carmel Primary School’s PTA. All parents, teachers and those associated with the school are automatically members. We are a registered charity and as a school community we aim to have fun, create a social atmosphere and raise important funds for our school.

Why does the MCCA exist?

All the money the community raises is used to enhance our children’s education and their enjoyment of school life. The activities and events that we run have a big impact on improving facilities at our school. Every parent is an essential component in making this a success and it cannot happen without you!

What we have achieved?

Due to the overwhelming support of the parents over the years, the MCCA has been able to fund such items as:

– A new school stage;
– Audio-visual equipment for the school hall;
– Interactive whiteboards;
– 90 Learning Pads;
– KS1 playground.

These are just a few examples of the donations that the school has received over the years. MCCA funding aims to support children’s learning across all year levels.

Priority for 2018/19 Academic Year

The school has asked the MCCA to fundraise this year for pupil wellbeing initiatives. The aim
is to provide mental health support to all pupils who are subject to ever growing pressures in
our modern, technology and social media led world. Funds raised will be used to build
internal and outdoor “chill out” areas, as well as, fund teacher training aimed at identifying
early warning signs in pupils. The MCCA aims to raise approximately £20k to support the
schools wellbeing initiatives.

Who is the MCCA Committee?

The MCCA committee is a group of parent volunteers who are elected at the beginning of each academic school year at the Annual General Meeting (AGM).  The role of the committee is to administer the Model Constitution (Nov 11)  and operates in accordance with the UK PTA Constitution and Guidance Notes (England and Wales) November 2011 as well as meet the requirements of the Charity Commission for England and Wales.

The elected committee for 2018-2019 school year is as follows:

Chair: Roisin Sullens
Treasurer: Emma McEwan
Secretary: Mike Murphy

Ordinary Committee Members:
Andrea Connell
Daniela Corrado
Victoria Farr
Katy Gallagher
Kate Lanigan
Lynda Looney
Anna Nicolini
Caterina Peruzzi
Nina Roldan
Lauren Rolfe
Marta Sequeira
Donna Thomas
Ciara Vincent

All committee members have an equal vote, other than the Chair who has a secondary or casting vote.

To continue the fantastic fundraising and wonderful events that have been so enjoyed by the school community, the committee relies on the support from the parent body to volunteer their time and effort. Without this support many of the events and fundraising is not possible. Find out how you can get involved.